Schedule for Monday and Tuesday

Time (EST) Time (CET) Monday, December 6th Tuesday, December 7th
8:50 14:50 Doctoral Symposium
9:00 15:00 Tutorial1 (IBM AI) M4IoT Tutorial2 (DDS RTI)
10:00 16:00
10:30 16:30
11:00 17:00 DIDL WoC (Containers) DICG WoSC (Serverless Computing)
11:30 17:30
12:00 18:00
13:00 19:00
13:30 19:30
14:00 20:00
14:45 20:45
15:30 21:30
16:00 22:00

Schedule for Main Conference

Time (EST) Time (CET) Wednesday, December 8th Thursday, December 9th Friday, December 10th
8:45 14:45 Welcome speech
9:00 15:00 Keynote 1 (Tamar Eilam) Keynote 2 (Raj Rajkumar) Keynote 3 (Raouf Boutaba)
10:00 16:00 Coffee break Coffee break Coffee break
10:15 16:15 RS1: Serverless Computing RS4: Consistency and Transactions RS7: Distributed Caching and Memory
11:00 17:00 Coffee break Coffee break Coffee break
11:15 17:15 RS2: Security and Privacy RS5: Systems Support for Machine Learning RS8: Real-Time and Latency-Sensitive Services
12:00 18:00 Lunch Lunch Lunch
13:00 19:00 RS3: Fault-tolerance and Trusted Computing Industry Session Test-of-Time + RS9: Storage and Scheduling
14:00 20:00 Coffee break Coffee break Coffee break
14:15 20:15 Demos and Posters RS6: Virtualization and Runtime Business Meeting and Concluding Remarks
15:15 21:15

Session Details

Monday, December 6th

Doctoral Symposium

(8:50 – 15:30 EST) (14:50 – 21:30 CET)

Tutorial 1

( 09:00 – 11:30 EST ) ( 15:00 – 17:30 CET )

Middleware and toolkit for next generation AI hardware acceleration
Kaoutar El Maghraoui (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)


Tuesday, December 7th

Tutorial 2

( 09:00 – 11:30 EST ) ( 15:00 – 17:30 CET )

Connext DDS for Middleware Researchers: a Gentle Introduction to the Leading Distributed Connectivity Framework for Autonomous Systems
Kyle E Benson (RTI. University of California, Irvine)

Seventh International Workshop on Serverless Computing (WoSC7)

(11:00 – 16:00 EST) (17:00 – 22:00 CET)


Wednesday, December 8th (Main Conference)

Opening speech and Keynote #1

( 08:45 – 10:00 EST ) ( 14:45 – 16:00 CET )

Opening speech and announcement for Middleware 2022 (15 minutes)

Is Cloud Good or Bad for the Environment?
Tamar Eilam (IBM T.J. Watson Research Center)

Discussion Break

( 10:00 – 10:15 EST ) ( 16:00 – 16:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 1. Serverless Computing

(10:15 – 11:00 EST) (16:15 – 17:00 CET)

SeBS: A Serverless Benchmark Suite for Function-as-a-Service Computing
Marcin Copik, Grzegorz Kwasniewski, Maciej Besta (ETH Zurich); Michal Podstawski (Future Processing SA); Torsten Hoefler (ETH Zurich)

Sizeless: Predicting the Optimal Size of Serverless Functions
Simon Eismann, Long Bui, Johannes Grohmann (University of Würzburg); Cristina Abad (Escuela Superior Politecnica del Litoral); Nikolas Herbst (University of Würzburg, Germany); Samuel Kounev (University of Wuerzburg)

Experience Paper: Towards Enhancing Cost Efficiency in Serverless Machine Learning Training
Marc Sánchez- Artigas, Pablo Gimeno Sarroca (Universitat Rovira i Virgili)

Discussion Break

( 11:00 – 11:15 EST ) ( 17:00 – 17:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 2. Security and Privacy

(11:15 – 12:00 EST) (17:15 – 18:00 CET)

PProx: Efficient Privacy for Recommendation-as-a-Service
Guillaume Rosinosky (ICTEAM, UCLouvain); Simon Da Silva (Univ. Bordeaux, CNRS, Bordeaux INP, LaBRI, UMR ); Sonia Ben Mokhtar (INSA Lyon, LIRIS, CNRS); Daniel Négru, Laurent Réveillère (Univ. Bordeaux, CNRS, Bordeaux INP, LaBRI, UMR ); Etienne Rivière (ICTEAM, UCLouvain)

Privacy Preserving Event based Transaction System in a Decentralized Environment
Rabimba Karanjai (University Of Houston); Lei Xu (University of Texas Rio Grande Valley); Zhimin Gao (Auburn University at Montgomery); Lin Chen (Texas Tech University); Kaleem Mudabbir (University Of Houston); Weidong Shi (University of Houston)

Experience Paper: sgx-dl: Dynamic Loading and Hot-Patching for Secure Applications
Nico Weichbrodt, Joshua Heinemann, Lennart Almstedt (TU Braunschweig, Germany); Pierre-Louis Aublin (IIJ Innovation Insitute, Japan); Rüdiger Kapitza (TU Braunschweig, Germany)

Lunch Break

( 12:00 – 13:00 EST ) ( 18:00 – 19:00 CET )

Research Session 3. Fault tolerance and Trusted Computing

(13:00 – 14:00 EST) (19:00 – 20:00 CET)

RamCast: RDMA-based Atomic Multicast
Long Le Hoang and Mojtaba Eslahi Kelorazi (Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Switzerland); Paulo Coelho (Federal University of Uberlandia, Brazil); Fernando Pedone (Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Switzerland)

Precursor: A Fast, Client-Centric and Trusted Key-Value Store using RDMA and Intel SGX
Ines Messadi, Shivananda Neumann, Nico Weichbrodt, Lennart Almstedt, Mohammad Mahhouk, Rüdiger Kapitza (TU Braunschweig)

Prosecutor: An Efficient BFT Consensus Algorithm with Behavior-aware Penalization against Byzantine Attacks
Gengrui Zhang and Hans-Arno Jacobsen (University of Toronto)

Gossip Consensus
Daniel Cason and Nenad Milosevic (Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Lugano, Switzerland); Zarko Milosevic (Informal Systems, Toronto, Canada); Fernando Pedone (Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Lugano, Switzerland)

Discussion Break

( 14:00 – 14:15 EST ) ( 20:00 – 20:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Demos and Posters

(14:15 – 15:15 EST) (20:15 – 21:15 CET)

This session will be held on the ohyay platform.


Thursday, December 9th (Main Conference)

Keynote #2

( 09:00 – 10:00 EST ) ( 15:00 – 16:00 CET )

Connected and Autonomous Vehicles as A Grand Challenge for Middleware in Cyber-Physical Systems
Raj Rajkumar (Carnegie Mellon University)

Discussion Break

( 10:00 – 10:15 EST ) ( 16:00 – 16:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 4. Consistency and Transactions

(10:15 – 11:00 EST) (16:15 – 17:00 CET)

FaaSTCC: Efficient Transactional Causal Consistency for Serverless Computing
Taras Lykhenko, Rafael Soares, Luis Rodrigues (INESC-ID, Instituto Superior Técnico, Universidade de Lisboa)

Highly-Available and Consistent Group Collaboration at the Edge with Colony
Ilyas Toumlilt (Sorbonne Université, LIP6, Inria); Pierre Sutra (Télécom SudParis); Marc Shapiro (Sorbonne Université, LIP6, Inria)

FW-KV: Improving Read Guarantees in PSI
Masoomeh Javidi Kishi and Roberto Palmieri (Lehigh University)

Discussion Break

( 11:00 – 11:15 EST ) ( 17:00 – 17:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 5. Systems Support for Machine Learning

(11:15 – 12:00 EST) (17:15 – 18:00 CET)

Implicit Model Specialization through DAG-based Decentralized Federated Learning
Jossekin Beilharz (Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam; Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin); Bjarne Pfitzner (Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam); Robert Schmid (Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam; Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin); Paul Geppert, Bernd Arnrich, Andreas Polze (Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam)

SwitchFlow: Preemptive Multitasking for Deep Learning
Xiaofeng Wu, Jia Rao (The University of Texas at Arlington); Wei Chen (Nvidia Corporation); Hang Huang (Huazhong University of Science and Technology); Chris Ding (The University of Texas at Arlington); Heng Huang (University of Pittsburgh)

Towards Optimal Placement and Scheduling of DNN Operations with Pesto
Ubaid Ullah Hafeez, Xiao Sun, Anshul Gandhi, and Zhenhua Liu (Stony Brook University)

Lunch Break

( 12:00 – 13:00 EST ) ( 18:00 – 19:00 CET )

Industry Session

(13:00 – 14:00 EST) (19:00 – 20:00 CET)

Authenticated Key-Value Stores with Hardware Enclaves
Kai Li, Yuzhe Tang (Syracuse University); Qi Zhang (IBM TJ Watson); Jianliang Xu (Hong Kong Baptist University); Jason Chen (Syracuse University)

The Serverless Shell
Aurèle Mahéo, Pierre Sutra (Télécom SudParis); Tristan Tarrant (RedHat)

Polygon: A QUIC-Based CDN Server Selection System Supporting Multiple Resource Demands
Mengying Zhou, Tiancheng Guo, Yang Chen (Fudan University); Junjie Wan (Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.); Xin Wang (Fudan University)

Procedure-driven Deployment Support for the Microservice Era
Amit Sheoran, Sonia Fahmy (Purdue University); Puneet Sharma (Hewlett Packard Labs); Navin Modi (Purdue University)

Discussion Break

( 14:00 – 14:15 EST ) ( 20:00 – 20:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 6. Virtualization and Runtimes

(14:15 – 15:15 EST) (20:15 – 21:15 CET)

A Fresh Look at the Architecture and Performance of Contemporary Isolation Platforms
Vincent van Rijn and Jan S. Rellermeyer (TU Delft)

Montsalvat: Intel SGX Shielding for GraalVM Native Images
Peterson Yuhala, Jämes Ménétrey, Pascal Felber, Valerio Schiavoni (Université de Neuchâtel); Alain Tchana (ENS Lyon/Inria); Gaël Thomas (Télécom SudParis/Institut Polytechnique de Paris); Hugo Guiroux, Jean-Pierre Lozi (Oracle Labs)

Xar-Trek: Run-time Execution Migration among FPGAs and Heterogeneous-ISA CPUs
Edson Horta, Ho-Ren Chuang, Naarayanan Rao VSathish (Virginia Tech); Cesar Philippidis (Rasec Tech); Antonio Barbalace (The University of Edinburgh); Pierre Olivier (The University of Manchester); Binoy Ravindran (Virginia Tech)

Experience Paper: Danaus - Isolation and Efficiency of Container I/O at the Client Side of Network Storage
Giorgos Kappes and Stergios V. Anastasiadis (University of Ioannina)


Friday, December 10th (Main Conference)

Keynote #3

( 09:00 – 10:00 EST ) ( 15:00 – 16:00 CET )

The Cloud to Things Continuum – Infrastructure and Management
Raouf Boutaba (University of Waterloo)

Discussion Break

( 10:00 – 10:15 EST ) ( 16:00 – 16:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 7. Distributed Caching and Monitoring

(10:15 – 11:00 EST) (16:15 – 17:00 CET)

SHARC: Improving Adaptive Replacement Cache with Shadow Recency Cache Management
Xiaoming Du and Cong Li (Intel Corporation)

CaT: Content-aware Tracing and Analysis for Distributed Systems
Tânia Esteves, Francisco Neves, Rui Oliveira, João Paulo (INESC TEC & University of Minho)

Lognroll: Discovering Accurate Log Templates by Iterative Filtering
Byungchul Tak (Kyungpook National University); Wook-Shin Han (Pohang University of Science and Technology)

Discussion Break

( 11:00 – 11:15 EST ) ( 17:00 – 17:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Research Session 8. Real-time and Latency-sensitive Services

(11:15 – 12:00 EST) (17:15 – 18:00 CET)

YASMIN: a Real-time Middleware for COTS Heterogeneous Platforms
Benjamin Rouxel (University of Amsterdam); Sebastian Altmeyer (University of Augsburg); Clemens Grelck (University of Amsterdam)

Memory at Your Service: Fast Memory Allocation for Latency-critical Services
Aidi Pi, Junxian Zhao, Shaoqi Wang, Xiaobo Zhou (University of Colorado Colorado Springs)

Magic-Pipe: Self-optimizing video analytics pipelines
Giuseppe Coviello, Yi Yang, Kunal Rao, Srimat Chakradhar (NEC Laboratories America Inc.)

Lunch Break

( 12:00 – 13:00 EST ) ( 18:00 – 19:00 CET )

Test-of-Time Award

Session Chair: Gordon Blair (Lancaster University)

(13:00 – 13:15 EST) (19:00 – 19:15 CET)

Research Session 9. Storage and Scheduling

(13:15 – 14:00 EST) (19:15 – 20:00 CET)

Snarl: Entangled Merkle Trees for Improved File Availability and Storage Utilization
Racin Nygaard (University of Stavanger); Vero Estrada-Galiñanes (EPFL); Hein Meling (University of Stavanger)

Lachesis: A Middleware for Customizing OS Scheduling of Stream Processing Queries
Dimitris Palyvos-Giannas (Chalmers University of Technology); Gabriele Mencagli (University of Pisa); Marina Papatriantafilou, Vincenzo Gulisano (Chalmers University of Technology)

Let’s Wait Awhile: How Temporal Workload Shifting Can Reduce Carbon Emissions in the Cloud
Philipp Wiesner, Ilja Behnke, Dominik Scheinert (Technische Universität Berlin); Kordian Gontarska (Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam); Lauritz Thamsen (Technische Universität Berlin)

Discussion Break

( 14:00 – 14:15 EST ) ( 20:00 – 20:15 CET )

Please use our Slack and Zoom to discuss

Business Meeting and Concluding Remarks

Chair: Hans-Arno Jacobsen (MSRG)

(14:15 – 15:15 EST) (20:15 – 21:15 CET)

In this public meeting, we will discuss the future of the conference and gather feedback from the audience.

SECOND RESEARCH TRACK CYCLE

Events Dates
Abstract Submission May 15th May 22nd, 2021
Full Paper Submission May 22nd June 1st, 2021
Author Notification August 15th August 22nd, 2021
Revised Submissions September 15th, 2021
Notifications of Decisions of Revised Papers September 30th, 2021
Camera Ready October 18th October 25th, 2021

OTHER TRACKS

Events Dates
Workshop Proposal Submission May 21st, 2021
Industry Track Abstract Submission May 15th May 22nd, 2021
Industry Track Full Paper Submission May 22nd June 1st, 2021
Doctoral Symposium Submission September 22nd September 29th, 2021
Demo & Poster Submission October 1st, 2021

FIRST RESEARCH TRACK CYCLE

Events Dates
Abstract Submission November 20th, 2020
Full Paper Submission December 1st, 2020
Author Notification February 28th March 3rd, 2021
Revised Submissions April 2nd April 5th, 2021
Notifications of Decisions of Revised Papers April 30th May 20th, 2021
Camera Ready June 14th July 7th, 2021
Conference December 6th – 10th, 2021